Hush Hush

Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush, #1)Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

This book was neither good nor bad, it was forgettable. I am 99.99% certain that I had read this book about 5 years ago and I have the same opinion of it now as I did then. It is not bad but I am not going to read it again. I saw it at the local thrift store and I was looking at it and I kept thinking: it feels familiar but I’m not sure why. Is it familiar looking because I have read it or because I have seen another book with a similar cover (I was thinking of The Fallen by Thomas E. Sniegoski—a slightly better book but not by much). Quickly into the first chapter I remembered the story but nevertheless gave it a chance, after all, I had grown and changed in five years, maybe I’d like it now. By the end it was crystal clear, me and that book were not to be.

***THERE WILL BE SPOILERS. PROCEED WITH CAUTION.***

Here is my unimpressive summary of it; I’ll try and keep it brief. Patch is the new boy at Nora’s school and she is drawn to him, despite his bad boy persona. After a series of events however (scary face in the window, mugging and her friend ending up hospitalized) she is convinced she best stay away, lest she end up in the hospital too, just in case it was him that did all those things. However, her and Patch are partnered on a school project she can’t get out of. Nora cannot stop herself from falling for him, despite her reservations (I need one character that can use and follow their head for more than seconds at a time!). Then comes the good boy, transferred from a private school and his sullen, quiet friend. Nora’s friend urges her to hang out with them since she (the best friend) has a crush on the quiet guy. Through the internet Nora discovers the good boy may not be so good (almost convicted of murder). Her friend is released from hospital and goes out with the boys alone, not believing Nora’s warnings to keep away from them. Long story short, Nora must save her friend. She kills the bad guy and herself in the process. This is no issue however because Patch and the bad guy are angels and she is the offspring of something powerful that could have given only one of them a mortal body. She kills herself so bad guy cant take her body and Path decides he loves her and doesn’t accept the offering. Bad guy is permanently dead and love thrives.I am leaving some details out but this is the gist of it.

I did not like this novel because things felt predictable and few things were really spontaneous. The majority of the book is Nora complaining/wanting Patch and them doing the whole good girl bad boy dance. The action is not central, it feels like it was only present because it was necessary to get from point one to point two. Nora is not given any backstory and she remains very one dimensional to me. When it seemed like she might die at the end I was not sad that she was dying but rather found myself thinking that it was a bold move on the authors part and I wondered how he’d continue the series without the main character. However, Nora came back to life (little to no suspense created. She dies at the end of one chapter and by the end of the next one all is well again). The style of writing itself is easy to read and pleasant, even though the novel as a whole was dull.

Needless to say, I shall not be reading the other books in this series (four books total) since I give the first book a 2.5 star rating. Has anyone read this series? If so around what age were you (middle school, high school, etc)? Did you like it?

If you want more in depth spoilers on it feel free to comment or message me and we can chat! Hopefully, you’ll even have a good book to recommend me!

Leave a Reply

