Thunder road series (3 books)!

Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road, #1)Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Goodreads had sent me an email and I was scrolling through it and came across this cover. It looked good so I went and read the summary and right away I knew that I had to read it. I went to the bookstore and got it and I’ll admit, I read that book so fast; I didn’t (i.e.: couldn’t) put it down! I immediately went to buy the next one because I wasn’t ready to leave this world, I really liked it and oh what I wouldn’t do to be able to go there for a day! I haven’t yet read the third one (why must books be so expensive?!), but you can bet that the moment I have money to spend or someone wants to buy me a gift I will not hesitate to point them in the direction of this book! Guilty confession, when I saw that there was a third book that I couldn’t get, I reread the first one, despite having only finished it a week and a half before.

That said, I absolutely adored the first book, so I was worried about weather or not the second one would live up to expectations. It did! It was as good as —if not better than— the first one! My standards for the third book are terribly high and I’m starting to worry that I may be setting myself up for disappointment!

Also, I sent the author a question via Goodreads and she responded within a week! That just tied me even closer to the books. I am definitely planning on reading (as soon as possible) her other series, Pushing the Limits, also!

Sorry, on to what you really want to know; what’s the book about. I will start by saying that it is a fluffy YA (young adult) novel. However, let me warn you first and foremost that this book is rather predictable and could easily be a romance novel. If you’re not in the mood for some romance you may want to save this series for another day! With that said, the plot is good, I enjoyed it. I really liked the motorcycle club the boys are a part of and how that was portrayed. Some parts of it annoyed me (like the clubs strict boys only rule) but that just made it more realistic to be honest. The club is what it is for better and for worse and it doesn’t apologize for that. I was easily drawn into this book and the world Katie McGarry created, it was completely foreign to me but I couldn’t believe how much I wanted it to be home. By the second book, when there were familiar names and places, I did feel like I was home again and it was a perfect feeling; it was one of belonging. And personally I think that is a big theme throughout the books. They’re about self discovery and opening up and not giving up (hold onto your stubbornness!) and belonging and making peace and… I could go on and on. I shall make a final confession before I end this entry. I loved these books too much to be able to give you a comprehensive and objective review. I highly recommend taking a look at their given official summaries and then giving them a read (or ten!).

I really would love to know what you think of them! I need to know if I am the only one who absolutely adored them or if I am overreacting a little.

Link to the authors website: http://www.katielmcgarry.com/
The picture at the top is the official cover of the first book in the series!

3 thoughts on “Thunder road series (3 books)!

    1. On the off chance you couldn’t tell, I definitely recommend it. Warning though, it made me wish for summertime and sun and above zero degree temperatures! When you get around to reading it I’d love to know what you thought of it!
      Have a good day and happy reading/writing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

