The Chaos of Stars

The Chaos of StarsThe Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White

Admittedly, what initially drew me to this book was the cover. Done in a deep blue with yellowy-gold designs, I absolutely adore its aesthetic. When I saw that it included a healthy dose of Egyptian mythology, I couldn’t ever dream of leaving it on the shelf unread.

This book was done differently than I had anticipated and it left me pleasantly surprised. Each chapter starts with a short paragraph detailing the power struggle between the main characters close relatives― The story of Amun-Re, Isis, Horus, Osiris, Anubis and Troth; stories those familiar with Egyptian mythology are already acquainted with. The main story itself follows Isadora, an angry mortal who who moves to California to escape her two immortal parents. She is human and I love how the author, Kiersten White, made her come to life and kept her real.

This story is the perfect length because nothing feels too rushed or too slow. It is wrapped up nicely at the end so that it doesn’t have to become a part of a series although if the author wanted it easily could become a nice one. I have no complaints about this book and would give it a 4.5 stars on 5. The only reason I didn’t give it a perfect score was because I reserve 5 stars for books that I have re-read. An enjoyable read that I would recommend to my fellow mythology loving friends.

Leave a Reply

