Poison

PoisonPoison by Bridget Zinn

A sixteen year old girl who is not quite what she seems. She’s on the run after being accused of trying to assassinate her best (and only) friend, who just happens to be the princess. She only has only one issue with this whole thing and that would be “trying.” She, the potions master who never misses, missed on her best shot to kill the princess. Meaning that she needs a rematch. This is hard to get when the person you’re trying to kill is a princess (can anyone say more guards?) and you can’t find her. Kyra, out of options, turns to a lethal criminal that she has taunted in the past― you know before becoming a criminal herself― back when she was pretty much one of the elite because of her wonderful talent with potions. To aid her, the master criminal hands her a piglet―a special piglet he is quick to assure her. Kyra has no other options and so she goes forth. What will she do? Who will she meet? All Kyra knows is that she will kill her friend to do what’s right in this time of desperation. This is Poison by Bridget Zinn.

I am too old for this book but I enjoyed it nonetheless. Kyra is an exceptional girl and she never stopped impressing me. She was real. She was level headed. She was strong and unwavering in what she knew she had to do. She believed in herself. In terms of personality she has definitely found a spot among my favorite characters. The plot of the book is constantly moving forward and it is well paced, things are allowed to evolve naturally without much rush. There are twists and turns and I will be honest here, I can’t think of any worthwhile complaints about this book.

I give it a 4.5 out of five stars only because I reserve 5 stars for books I have read multiple times and this is my first attempt at this one (I will change the rating later on if I ever reread it!) (P.S.: I gave it a 5 star on Goodreads however because .5 is not allowed and because it is not the authors fault that I have just now stumbled upon her book!)
Note there are many mixed opinions about this book on Goodreads! I and many others loved it and probably about the same number of people hated it so try it out and let me know what you think, I can’t get a handle on this one.

Leave a Reply

