Spirit Walk (two books in one!)

Spirit Walk (Walk, #1-2)Spirit Walk by Richie Tankersley Cusick

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Spirit walk is the title given to the series by Richie Tankersley Cusick and it is made up of book 1: Spirit Walk and book 2: Shadow Mirror. It follows Miranda who just moved to a new town, St.Yvette, Louisiana, following a disaster back home in Florida. Her mother moved them in with her aunt, whom Miranda loves but has never really seen, and her grandfather, a man her mother never speaks about. In this quirky little town Miranda somehow (she’s not quite sure how it happens) ends up with five amazing new friends that are quickly becoming more like family. She also inherits the ability to communicate with the dead. As she deals with new feelings and situations she never could have dreamed up, two of Miranda’s friends are unfailingly at her side and willing to offer her the possibility of something more than friendship. Miranda knows she can’t have them both. She also can’t help but realize that although the two best friends (and cousins) are wildly different there’s something about both of them that she trusts, that makes her open up and feel comfortable.

I have a confession. I tend to read books like this: beginning, end, middle, end. I am terrible with suspense and have to read ahead to know what happens before I can calmly read the book. I had to do this during this book… more than once. Its suspenseful and intriguing and although I have not read all that many ghost books, this one always stands out for me. I love how it mingles history and the present. It leads you on an adventure by revealing things piece by piece. I also really enjoy the characters and how they’re brought to life, especially Miranda’s friends whom I quickly accepted and couldn’t help but adore. There are many moments that are filled with playful banter and it was easy to get caught up in it. Sometimes, I caught myself feeling like Miranda must have at times―as though I had grown up with these friends and we all knew each other better than ourselves. I’ve never said this about a book before but I felt included.

I have one complaint about this book.The last bit felt rushed and, in my opinion, like it either needs a sequel really badly or more time should have been taken to gently round out the ending. One more short chapter (not Dan Brown short chapter but just a few pages) would have done it. (This is pretty much the only reason that I’m giving it 4 stars instead of 5.)

Leave a Reply

