The White Tiger

The White TigerThe White Tiger by Aravind Adiga

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

By Aravind Adiga, The White Tiger is not the sort of book I usually read. I was at a book sale however and it cost one dollar, so I thought, “why not, it seems like it could be interesting.” I have just finished it and feel like I ought to share it with you all.

I tend to read light, airy books. After all, books are my escape and when the real world gets brought into them, things get messy (and instead of escaping life for a while you’re dragged right into the murky depths of it). This book is definitely messy although as an outsider, someone who has never lived that life, I do not know just how close or far it hits from the reality. That is what bugs me the most about this book, is it dead on or is it like science fiction is to science? I feel as though it is probably the former but that’s just an educated guess.

The main character goes from slave to “entrepreneur”. One does not make this leap without a lot of mess and a few questionable situations and therefore it’s a good thing Balram is used to getting his hands dirty.

I will admit, I cannot sum up this book for you, it would not do it justice. I suggest that you read the first three, maybe four chapters and if it intrigues you enough, makes you think enough, then keep going; if not, save it for a later date. I have read a few reviews that have described it as funny; I don’t agree. Intriguing, enlightening, mind opening and frankly more than a little worrisome are the words that I would choose to describe this book. Keep in mind that it isn’t a murder mystery, he is pretty open about who he killed and you pretty much know who is dying before any murdering happens. It’s a story of corruption and money (among many other, equally important things).

I gave it a high 4 out of 5 stars because I did find there was a lull in the middle where it seemed…not quite repetitive but something akin to that. The writing itself is good and clear and I like how the narration of all these events take place. It is wrote for an audience.

P.S.: While I think that anyone should be allowed to read any book they want, I would recommend this book more for adults, give or take a little. I say this only because I feel that (generally) adults are the ones who will be interested enough to both finish it and think on the thousand things it’s trying to say, not all of them obvious.

Leave a Reply

