Since You’ve Been Gone

Since You've Been GoneSince You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ever needed the long odds to work out? Been so worried that you latch onto any possibility, even if deep down you know you’re deluding yourself? This was Emily at the beginning of the summer when her very best friend disappeared and left her on her own in what was supposed to be THEIR summer. Emily was left with only a list of things to do. No explanation as to her friend’s disappearance. Emily depends on Sloane but as she completes Sloane’s list one crazy, daunting, task at a time, she might just find more than she could have ever dreamed.

I think I adored this book because I related to Emily. She was far from perfect but she was trying. I liked that she evolves over the course of the book. The book kept my interest peaked since I needed to know how she’d complete her tasks. Also, I needed to know if her crazy hope that her tasks would somehow lead her to Sloane was indeed crazy or an inspired one-against-a-million odds.

P.S. I’ll admit, I ended up rereading this book again about six months after I initially finished it, I liked the characters and their evolution that much.

Leave a Reply

